Rookwood Independent School is owned and operated by Rookwood School Trust Limited, a registered charity (no. 307322). The school is governed by a Governing Body which also acts as the Trustees of the charity. The role of the Governors is to have overall control of the school and to be responsible for making sure the school is fulfilling its main functions. Whilst the Governors delegate the responsibility for the day-to-day running of the school to the Headmaster they are, nevertheless, the people who lead the charity and have ultimate responsibility for its safe and appropriate operation.

The Governors hold regular meetings, either as a full governing body or in sub-committees (covering education, estates and finance). The Headmaster and other senior staff report to these meetings, as appropriate.

Certain Governors have specific responsibility, these include safeguarding, SEND, boarding, health and safety, and EYFS. There is also a Chair of Governors who runs the Governors’ meetings and liaises with the Headmaster. The Chair of Governors can be contacted via email or by writing to Mrs C Hardiman, Rookwood School, Weyhill Road, Andover, Hampshire, SP10 3AL.

Our Governors are appointed through interview and ratification by the Governing Body. Their duties (as a Governing Body) are as follows:

  1. Ensure the charity is carrying out its purposes for the public benefit
  2. Comply with the charity’s governing document and the law
  3. Act in the charity’s best interests
  4. Manage the charity’s resources responsibly
  5. Act with reasonable care and skill
  6. Ensure the charity is accountable

Our current Governors are:

  • Mrs C Hardiman  – Chair of Governors
  • Mr L Bedborough
  • Councillor D Drew
  • Mrs F Penfold
  • Mrs V Wickens
  • Mr A Geary
  • Mrs K Wilkie
  • Mrs P Bunche